Gluten, a set of proteins mainly contained in cereals, is responsible for intolerance in about 1% of the population in France, and is very present in our current diet.
To limit the symptoms (abdominal pain, chronic diarrhea, fatigue, etc.), it is important to eliminate certain foods. Here are the ones that contain the most gluten.
Gluten is a protein found mainly in barley, rye or wheat. That is why the bread is very rich in it. It is also gluten, which means “glue” or “rubber” in Latin, that is responsible for the elasticity of bread dough.
Made from wheat, pasta is also on the list of foods to avoid in case of intolerance. But it is very easy to find pasta prepared with rice flour on the market, which therefore does not contain gluten. The same for the bread.
In the department of alcoholic beverages we can mention beer. This drink is made from water, yeast and grains, which contain the famous group of proteins. The most commonly used in brewing are barley, wheat and rye. But then again, there are plenty of gluten-free beers on the market.
Who says football match on TV, says beer/pizza combo. But those who cannot consume a traditional beer due to intolerance will not be able to console themselves with a good pizza because its dough is a source of gluten.
Biscuits, two trays and other cakes are the stars of the breakfast. But you should know that these foods also contain a lot of gluten. In the morning, you opt instead for eggs or a bowl of cottage cheese with oleaginous fruits.